The 2016 annual general meeting (AGM) for Friends of Durham Tees Valley Airport took place at the Old Armoury Cafe at Durham Tees Valley Airport on Friday 5th February.

The meeting was a chance to elect our leadership for the coming year.

The Chairman role is again filled by Brian Robinson, who enters his second year at the helm of the group.

All existing committee members stood again for their positions, which were voted in without contest. They are:

  • Stuart Reid (Vice Chairman)
  • Richard Bowater (Treasurer)
  • Chris Smith (Secretary)
  • Matt Falcus (Information)
  • Paul Watterson (Events)
  • Colin Granton (Consultant)
  • Dave Anderson
  • Michael McNeil

An extra committee place was created for the role of Recruitment Officer. One nomination was received for Paul Tasker, who now takes up this role.

It was agreed at the meeting that this year will only feature a paid membership level, and not a free level. As such, anyone wishing to continue their membership of the group need to pay their subs. You should receive an e-mail soon. The price is kept at £12 for this year – a bargain at £1 per month!

The meeting concluded with a showing of the new Reunion of Giants film from the visit in 2014 of Canadian Lancaster “Vera”, which included a display at Durham Tees Valley Airport.